## Minutes ICOC Meeting December 15th, 2010

#### **Locations:**

Paul Brest Hall Munger Complex Stanford University Stanford, CA 94305 City of Hope 1500 E. Duarte Road Duarte, California 91010

The Sherry Lansing Foundation 2121 Avenue of the Stars, Suite 2020 Los Angeles, CA 90067 716 Bonair Way La Jolla, CA 92037 3500 W. Olive Ave, #1190 Burbank, CA 91505-4634

The Scripps Research Institute 10550 North Torrey Pines Road La Jolla, California 92037 Cedars-Sinai Medical Center Academic Affairs Administration North Towers, Plaza Level, Suite 2009 thru 2015 8700 Beverly Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90048

	December 15 <sup>th</sup> , 2010		
Robert Price for Robert Birgeneau	Present (Telephone)		
Floyd Bloom	Present (Telephone)		
David Brenner	Present		
William Brody	Absent		
Jacob Levine for Sue Bryant	Present		
Marcy Feit	Absent		
Michael Friedman	Present (Telephone)		
Leeza Gibbons	Present (Telephone)		
Michael Goldberg	Present		
Sam Hawgood	Present		
Bob Klein	Present		
Sherry Lansing	Present (Telephone)		
Ted Love	Present		
Shlomo Melmed	Present but not voting (Telephone)		
Ed Penhoet	Absent		
Phil Pizzo	Absent		
Ken Burtis for Claire Pomeroy	Present		
Francisco Prieto	Present		
Carmen Puliafito	Present		
Robert Quint	Present		
Jeannie Fontana for John Reed	Present		
Duane Roth	Present		
Joan Samuelson	Present		
David Serrano Sewell	Present		
Jeff Sheehy	Present		
Jon Shestack	Absent		

Approved at 3/10/11 ICOC BOARD METTING

Oswald Steward	Present
Art Torres	Present
James Economou for Eugene Washington	Present

## Agenda Item #4 Chairman's Report

No report given

#### Agenda Item #5 President's Report

No report given

## Agenda Item #6 Consideration of minutes from previous Board meeting

Item deferred to next meeting

Agenda Item #7 Consideration of plan for CIRM support for attendance at ISSCR annual meeting by Patient Advocates, CIRM Bridges Scholars and other CIRM funded early career scientists.

Item deferred to next meeting

## Agenda Item 8 Consideration of candidates for Vice-Chair of ICOC

#### Motion

- Motion made by David Serrano Sewell to Elect Vice Chair of the ICOC
- Motion seconded by Ted Love

#### Vote:

- The ICOC by individual voice vote elected Art Torres as Vice Chair of the ICOC
- 21 Votes for Torres; 0 Votes for Sheehy

#### Agenda Item #9 Consideration of Bylaws Vice-Chair

#### **Motion:**

- Motion made by Sherry Lansing to Elect Duane Roth as Bylaws Vice-Chair
- Motions seconded by David Serrano Sewell

#### Vote:

- The ICOC by individual voice vote elected Duane Roth as Bylaws Vice-Chair
- 23 Yes Vote; 0 No Votes; 0 Conflicts; 0 Abstentions

### Agenda Item #10 Consideration of candidates for Chair of ICOC

MEMO RE. ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR: PROCEDURES

STATEMENT OF CANDIDACY FROM SENATOR ART TORRES

STATEMENT OF CANDIDACY FROM BOB KLEIN

STATEMENT FROM ART TORRES

## <u>LETTER FROM SHERRY LANSING</u> LETTER FROM CALIFORNIA SCIENTISTS

#### LETTER FROM STATE CONTROLLER

#### **Motion:**

- Motion made by Sherry Lansing to Elect Bob Klein as chair with understanding that he will serve no more than 180 Days
- Motions seconded by Jeannie Fontana

#### Vote:

- The ICOC by individual voice vote elected Bob Klein as chair with understanding that he will serve no more than 180 Days
- 21 Yes Vote; 0 No Votes; 0 Conflicts; 1 Abstentions

#### **CLOSED SESSION**

Agenda Item #11Discussion of Personnel (Government Code section 11126, subdivision (a); Health & Safety Code section 125290.30(d) (3) (D)).

• See Agenda Items 8, 9 and 10

#### **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

Agenda Item 12 Public comment. The Committee will accept public testimony on any matter under its jurisdiction that is not on the agenda, but the Committee cannot act on any such matter at this meeting.

Public Comments made at meeting by Carroll Jenkins, Jonathan Friedman, Mark Fischer-Colbrie,

Independent Citizens Oversight Committee				
Oversignt Committee			12.15.2010	
			Vote On:	
Members		Motion 1 Motion Maker: Serrano Sewell Seconded: Love	Motion 2  Motion Maker:  Lansing  Seconded:  Fontana	
	Attendance	<b>Description:</b> Elect Vice Chair	<b>Description:</b> Elect Bob Klein As Chair With Understanding That He Will Serve No More Than 180 Days	
Robert Price for Birgeneau	P (Telephone)	Torres	Y	
Floyd Bloom	P (Telephone)	Torres	Υ	
David Brenner	Р	Torres	Υ	
William Brody	Α			
Jacob Levin for Bryant	Р	Torres	Y	
Marcy Feit	Α			
Michael Friedman	P (Telephone)	Torres	Y	
Leeza Gibbons	P (Telephone)	Torres	Y	
Michael Goldberg	Р	Torres	Υ	
Sam Hawgood	Р	Torres	Y	
Bob Klein	Р	Torres		
Sherry Lansing	P (Telephone)	Torres	Y	
Ted Love	Р	Torres	Y	
Shlomo Melmed	Α			
Ed Penhoet	Α			
Phil Pizzo	Α			
Ken Burtis for Pomeroy	Р	Torres	Y	
Francisco Prieto	Р	Torres	Y	
Carmen Puliafito	Р	Torres	Y	
Robert Quint	Р	Torres	Y	
Jeannie Fontana for Reed	Р	Torres	Y	
Duane Roth	Р	Torres	Y	
Joan Samuelson	Р	Torres	Y	
David Serrano Sewell	Р	Torres	Y	
Jeff Sheehy	Р		A	
Jon Shestack	A			
Oswald Steward	Р	Torres	Y	
Art Torres	Р		Y	
James Economou for Washington	Р	Torres	Y	
	<b>P</b> : 23	Y: 21 [Torres]	Y: 21	
	<b>A</b> : 6	<b>N</b> : 0	<b>N</b> : 0	
Total		<b>A</b> : 0	A: 1	
		<b>C</b> : 0	C: 0	
		PASS	PASS	

# Motion 3 Motion Maker: Lansing Seconded: Serrano Sewell Description: Elect Duane Roth as Bylaws Vice Chair Υ Υ Υ Υ Υ Υ Υ Υ Υ Υ Υ Υ **Y**: 23 **N**: 0 **A**: 0 **C**: 0 **PASS**